Moving out of Canada and the risks of investing

Visibility: Public
asked Jul 28, 2018 02:24 PM by
 gravatar image

Hi, I am new to investing and there is a problem that has made me hesistant to invest (whether it's through ETFs or mutual funds). The problem is what happens if I start an investment account in Canada and then later move to another country? This isn't something set in stone or that I have a timeframe for, but I think is fairly likely to happen for me, perhaps multiple times in the future. (I'll use the US as an example, but this applies to moving to any country).

First of all, what happens to my account? I've heard conflicting things about it - I asked an advisor at my bank about this (if I were to open a mutual fund account with them) and they said that I cannot contribute more money into it when I'm out of Canada (which means I could still fly to Canada for a visit on occasion and deposit money?), but that I could still withdraw money from it. However I've also seen conflicting information on websites which seem to say the account must be frozen - which means I cannot withraw money either? That is a big problem, if I cannot take money out.

Do the same rules apply to a Questrade account with ETFs versus a mutual fund account? I read somewhere that you must close your Questrade account if you are no longer a resident of Canada - but then on Questrade's own website it says a Canadian citizen (which I am) can open an account even if they live outside of Canada, so that seems to mean I can keep it if I move out.