Invest in company RRSP or open separate RRSP

Visibility: Public
asked May 16, 2016 11:18 AM by
 gravatar image

Good morning!

I am a newbie to this site and have only moderate (at best) investment knowledge. My question is this: I work for a company that got acquired by Sun Life last year. Of course all our RRSP funds that we can buy are Sun Life products. I am currently investing in the " SLF Granite Mod 2030 Fund " from Sun Life with a MET (for Sun Life employees) of 0.8%.

The fund performance is (I hope the table show nicely just as I put it in here...):

Calendar Year Total Returns 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 YTD Fund 10.55 -3.01 11.96 18.85 12.08 8.27 -0.76 Bmark 8.24 -1.58 9.86 15.74 11.46 7.54 -0.43 +/- Bmk 2.31 -1.42 2.10 3.11 0.61 0.73 -0.33

The deal is that I need to invest 2% of my gross salary so that I get the full 4% company matching.

Now my question is: should I just invest any additional funds with my employer or should I open an RRSP with Questrade and follow the "Regular Portfolio" approach?

Edit Retag Flag offensive Close Delete

2 answers

sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
answered May 16, 2016 12:34 PM by
 gravatar image

Hi,

Usually employers would match employees contributions in RRSP Employer funds.

If this is your case, then I would suggest investing in your employer RRSP plan.

May be the fund will perform lower than other ETF or regular funds, but since your employer contributes with you then your performance vs amount invested would be better

Hope this helps!

Edit Flag offensive Delete Link

Comments

Yes, my employer contributes, but only up to 2% of my base salary (they put 4% on top of it). So I only need to contribute 2% to get the full employer matching. But I want to save more, so I am thinking about putting that money in a separate RRSP.

HelmutD ( May 17, 2016 11:51 AM )edit
answered May 16, 2016 12:53 PM by
 gravatar image